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February 25, 2013 
 
 
RE: License Renewal Deadlines - Reactivating an Expired License 
 
Dear Designated Broker, 
 
You are receiving this letter because you are actively licensed as a Designated Broker (DB).  Following are some 
reminders about late license renewals. 
 
The deadline to renew a real estate license is 5:00 p.m. Mountain (Boise) Time on the last day of the renewal 
period, unless the last day falls on a weekend or holiday (Idaho Code 54-2018(2)).  In that case, the deadline to 
renew is 5:00 p.m. Mountain (Boise) Time on the first business day after the weekend or holiday.  If not renewed 
on time, the license expires, and a $25 late renewal fee automatically applies (Idaho Code 54-2018(3), 54-
2020(3) and Rule 105).  If the licensee is on “active” status at the time of expiration, the system will also ask a 
series of questions about real estate activity.  These questions must be answered truthfully, and a civil penalty fine 
may also be assessed for practicing on an expired license (Rule 105). 
 
If you as the DB allow your individual license to expire, and you operate as a sole proprietorship, your brokerage 
immediately terminates when your license expires.  That has the effect of inactivating all the sales associates in 
your brokerage.  If your brokerage is a licensed business entity such as a corporation or LLC, the entity has 10 
business days in which to name a designated broker (including adding you back to the company) (Idaho Code 54-
2039(3)).  The licensing system will assign “Interim Broker” to be the DB of your licensed entity during this time 
period.  If no DB is named within 10 business days, including reactivating your own DB license, the entity license 
will terminate and all sales associates will be placed on inactive status.  
 
Expired licenses can only be renewed on “inactive” status.  After an expired license is renewed, the DB can 
reactivate a sales associate by adding him back to the company through the online services.  However, a DB 
cannot reactivate himself online.  You must contact the Commission office for assistance.  DBs who allow their 
licenses to expire must also show proof of completing Business Conduct and Office Operations (BCOO) or Idaho 
Brokerage Management within the previous three years in order to reactivate as a DB (Idaho Code 54-2016(1)(b) 
and (2)(c)). 
 
We hope this information will be helpful to you.  Please let us know if you have any questions. 
 
Sincerely, 

 
Andy Enrico, Chair 
Idaho Real Estate Commission 


