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TRS (800) 377-3529 
www.irec.idaho.gov 

 
June 17, 2014 
 
Dear Designated Broker:  
 
You are receiving this letter because you are an active status designated broker.  The Commission wants to remind you 
about important law changes taking effect on July 1, 2014 pertaining to continuing education requirements for ALL 
licensees (Idaho Code 54-2023). 
 
1. All licensees will take Core every year, and elective CE credit hours are reduced from 16 to 12 per renewal 
period.  The new requirement for license renewal or reactivation is 2 different Core courses plus 12 hours of elective 
credit

 

.  We encourage all licensees to take the 2013 Core course now, if they have not already done so.  (The 2013 Core 
will remain available through June 2015.) 

AND 
 
2. All salespersons renewing for the first time or activating for the first time after having renewed on inactive status 
must complete 2 different Core courses plus 12 hours of post license credit

 

.  The post license requirement is in lieu of the 
elective hours for new salespersons and consists of curriculum developed by the Commission.  The post license 
requirement includes the mandatory Fundamentals class (8 hours) plus the licensee’s choice of one 4-hour post license 
elective module.  At this time, the 4-hour post license modules include:  Introduction to Commercial Real Estate; 
Professionalism, Negotiations and Closings; and Pricing, Marketing and Advertising.  

The post license courses will be available in an online format by December 2014.  At present, they will be offered only in 
a live format through certified providers.  As soon as schedules have been determined by the providers, you will be able to 
locate post license course offerings at irec.idaho.gov.  Navigate to the Public Database Search and choose the “Find a 
Course” tab and “Post License” as the course type. 
 
The Commission has adopted an Implementation Plan for phasing in the new requirements (copy attached).  Licensees 
who are due to renew in the next few months may be able to renew under the old education requirements under certain 
circumstances.  Please encourage your associates to contact our office for information about their specific renewal 
requirements. 
 
Thank you for your assistance in sharing this important news with your associates.  Please do not hesitate to contact us if 
you have any questions or need more information. 
 
Sincerely, 

 
Jeanne Jackson-Heim 
Executive Director 
 
Enclosure 
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S 1206 Implementation Plan 
(Effective July 1, 2014) 

 
 
1. Annual Core Requirement: 
 

This section applies to any salesperson who has already renewed his/her 
license at least one time on active status prior to July 1, 2014, and any broker. 

 
NOTE:  All new brokers licensed in Idaho on or after July 1, 2014 must 

fully comply with the new CE requirements for renewal or activation (2 Core 
courses plus 12 hours of continuing education elective credit). 

 
 
A. Active Status Renewals (except Salespersons in First Licensing 

Period): 
 
For all active status license renewals actually completed on or before 

September 30, 2014 where the licensee has completed the old CE requirement (1 
Core course plus 16 elective hours) at the time of renewal, the Commission will 
accept the old CE requirement as being “in compliance,” OR the licensee may 
choose to fulfill the new CE requirement (2 Core courses plus 12 elective hours) 
 
 All licensees actually completing active status renewals on or after October 
1, 2014 must complete 2 different Core courses plus 12 hours of elective credit, 
and thereafter every licensee must take every consecutive Core course without a 
gap – which 2 Core courses they take will depend on how they started the cycle 
  
 
 B. License Activations (except Salespersons Activating for the First 
Time After Expiration of the First Licensing Period): 
 

For all license activations actually completed through September 30, 2014 
where CE is required to activate the license, the Commission will accept the old 
CE requirement (1 Core course plus 16 elective hours) as being “in compliance,” 
OR the licensee may choose to fulfill the new CE requirement (2 Core courses plus 
12 elective hours) 

 
Thereafter, a licensee who needs CE to activate a license must complete 2 

different Core courses plus 12 hours of elective credit prior to activating the license 
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A licensee who needs to “make up” a Core course older than Core 2012 

should contact the Commission for assistance so a course can be made available 
 
 

2. Post License Requirement: 
 

This section applies to any salesperson whose license was issued prior to 
July 1, 2014 and who has not yet renewed the license one time on active status. 
 

NOTE:  All new salespersons licensed in Idaho on or after July 1, 2014 
must fully comply with the new CE requirements of 2 Core courses plus 12 hours 
of prescribed post-license education (8-hour mandatory course plus 4-hour post-
license module of choice). 
 

 
A. Active Status Renewals (Salespersons in First Licensing Period): 
 
For all license renewals actually completed on or before September 30, 

2014 where the licensee has completed the old CE requirement (1 Core course plus 
16 elective hours) at the time of renewal, the Commission will accept the old CE 
requirement as being “in compliance,” OR the licensee may choose to fulfill the 
new CE requirement (2 Core courses plus 12 post-license hours) 

 
All licensees actually completing renewals on or after October 1, 2014 

must complete 2 different Core courses plus 12 hours of prescribed post-license 
education (8-hour mandatory course plus 4-hour post-license module of choice), 
and thereafter every licensee must take every consecutive Core course without a 
gap – which 2 Core courses they take will depend on how they started the cycle  
 
  

B. License Activations (Salespersons Activating for the First Time 
After Expiration of the First Licensing Period): 
 

For all salesperson license activations through September 30, 2014 where 
CE is required to activate the license, the Commission will accept the old CE 
requirement (1 Core course plus 16 elective hours) as being “in compliance,” OR 
the licensee may choose to fulfill the new CE requirement (2 Core courses plus 12 
post-license hours) 
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Thereafter, a salesperson licensee who needs CE to activate the license for 
the first time must complete 2 different Core courses plus 12 hours of prescribed 
post-license education (8-hour mandatory course plus 4-hour post-license module 
of choice) 

 
A salesperson licensee who needs to “make up” a Core course older than 

Core 2012 should contact the Commission for assistance so a course can be made 
available 
 
 
 C. Exception to Post-License Requirement: 
 

A licensee under this section renewing a license on active status or 
completing a license activation for which CE is required on or after October 1, 
2014 must complete 2 different Core courses plus 12 hours of prescribed post-
license education (8-hour mandatory course plus 4-hour post-license module of 
choice), provided that: 
 

For license renewals or activations actually completed between October 1, 
2014 and May 31, 2015: 

 
If a salesperson has completed 8 to 12 elective hours of CE as of July 
1, 2014, the Commission will accept either 8 or 12 elective hours in 
lieu of corresponding hours of post-license education.  If 8 elective 
hours are utilized in lieu of post-license hours, the salesperson must 
also complete 4 hours of post-license education  

 
A salesperson who has not completed a minimum of 8 hours of 
elective CE as of July 1, 2014 must complete all 12 hours of 
prescribed post-license education 

 
 
3. General: 
 

Core 2012 course and Core 2012 instructors will remain certified for an 
extra six (6) months through December 31, 2014 to allow licensees to fulfill the 
new Core requirements 
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Core 2013 (live and online) and all subsequent Core courses will be certified 
for a period of two full years (beginning July 1 of the Core year) to allow licensees 
to fulfill the new Core requirements  
 
 Starting with the April 2014 renewal letters, and continuing through the 
March 2016 renewal letters, Staff will review each renewal notice before it 
goes out and will make individual notations as to what CE, if any, the licensee 
must complete to renew in compliance under the new provisions of the license 
law.  This will give all existing licensees actual notice of their specific CE 
requirements and allow them 75 to 90 days to make up any missing CE prior 
to the expiration of the renewal period. 
 
 
4. Provider Training: 
 
 All providers renewing certification on or after July 1, 2014 must complete a 
Commission-developed provider training course prior to renewal, either by 
attending an Instructor Development Workshop or scheduling a training with the 
Commission, and one provider training course during each 2-year renewal period 
thereafter 
 
 
TIMELINE FOR IMPLEMENTATION: 
 
Ongoing – Outreach to licensees through local and state REALTOR® associations 
 
April 1, 2014 – Revise broker and continuing salesperson renewal notice letter to 
incorporate new Core and elective requirements (renewal letters sent in April are 
for July renewals) 
 
April 1, 2014 – Develop separate “new salesperson” renewal notice letter to 
incorporate new Core and post-license requirements 
 
April 1, 2014 – Establish curriculum and schedule for FY 2015 provider trainings 
 
April 15, 2014 - Send first postcard mailing to all licensees to advise of new 
education requirements and implementation plan 
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April 15, 2014 – E-mail all providers regarding bi-annual provider training 
requirement, schedule for FY 2015 provider trainings, and reminder about 2014 
Instructor Development Workshop 
 
May 1, 2014 – Send postcard mailing or broker bulletin letter to all designated 
brokers to advise of new law and implementation plan 
 
May 1, 2014 – Finalize Core 2014 and post-license curriculum, including Request 
for Quotations and filming of “Licensee Safety Video”  
 
May 6, 2014 – Pilot Core 2014 at Instructor Development Workshop 
 
May 15, 2014 – Revise Core 2014 as needed and distribute to providers 
 
June 1, 2014 – Send second postcards to all licensees to advise of new education 
requirements and implementation plan – 1 for brokers and continuing salespersons, 
and 1 for new salespersons in first renewal period 
 
June 1, 2014 - Pilot post-license curriculum for certified instructors around the 
state; process instructor certifications 
 
On or before July 1, 2014 – Providers develop and obtain ARELLO certification 
for online Core 2014  
 
On or before December 31, 2014 – Develop and obtain ARELLO certification for 
online post-license courses 
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